Young Dem Candidates

There were many Young Dems on the ballot in 2017 in Ohio. While not all of them were successful, a lot of them were.

60 to be exact!

These candidates ran for city councils, school boards, township trustee, judge and more. These candidates were from large cities, small villages and everywhere in between.  Check out this map to see all of the locations. A few candidates were so intimidating they ran unopposed, but they are all going to be taking an oath of office soon. Congratulations to all of the winners!

Mohamed Al-Hamdani - Dayton School Board
Alyssa Alcorn - South Amherst Village Council
Aryeh Alex - Franklin Township Trustee
Michael Allbright - Wilmington Council Ward 2
Carla Baldwin - Youngstown Municipal Court Judge
Stacie Baker - Reynoldsburg City Council
Bryn Bird - Granville Township Trustee
Jeremy Blake - Newark City Council Ward 2
Jessica Brandt - Macedonia City Council
Sara Brumfield - Federal Hocking Local School District Board of Education
Amber Clark - Hamilton Local School District
James Costello - Cleveland Heights Municipal Court Judge
Emily Culver - Deer Park Council
Brian Dembinski - Amherst Council Ward 1
Tamaya Dennard - Cincinnati City Council
David Donofrio - Southwestern City Schools Board of Education
Joseph Emery - Conneaut City Council Ward 3
Kimberlee Erdman Rohr - Cheviot Law Director
Sean Fennell - Newark City Council Ward 7
Chris Glassburn - North Olmsted Council Ward 2
Anthony Gomez - Cuyahoga Falls Board of Education
Daniel Gordon - Bowling Green City Council Ward 1
Ed Gorski - Olmsted Falls Council Ward 1
Anthony Hairston - Cleveland City Council Ward 10
Shannon Hardin - Columbus City Council
Eric Harmon - Uhrichsville City Council
Joanna Heck - Whitehall City Council Ward 2
Melanie Houston - Grandview City Council
Matt Jolson - Marble Cliff Village Council
Megan Kilgore - Columbus City Auditor
Zack Klein - Columbus City Prosecutor
Andrew Kluge - Ravenna City Council
Nick Komives - Toledo City Council
Robert Kramer - Obetz Village Council
Ben Kyle - Hubbard City Council
Marissa Lautzenheiser - Sandy Township Trustee
Janna Leeper - New Philadelphia Board of Education
Christopher Liebold- Fremont Cith Council Ward 4
Marcus Madison - Elyria City Council Ward 5
John Mariol - Canton City Council
Kerry McCormack - Cleveland City Council Ward 3
Mike Moroski - Cincinnati Board of Education
Dominic Paretti - Columbus Board of Education
Sean Parsons - Athens Board of Education
James Pasch - Beachwood City Council
Tristian Rader - Lakewood City Council
Zachary Holden Ravanelli - Medina County ESC
Drew Reilly - Cuyahoga Falls City Council Ward 1.
Chris Seelbach- Cincinnati City Council
P.G. Sittenfeld - Cincinnati City Council
Jarrod Skinner – Franklin County Municipal Court Judge
Eddie Smith - Athens Township Trustee
Sarah Stankorb Taylor - Wyoming City Council
Kelsey Swindler - Wilmington City Council
Joshua Thornsberry - Lorain Council Ward 8
Jennifer Warden - Wooster Council - Ward 2
Angel Wassie - Conneaut City Council
Molly Wassmuth - Grandview Board of Education
Tyler Williams - Wilmington City Council
Frank Zona - Medina County ESC

*Best of luck to Stacie Baker who is currently leading by one vote for the last at-large spot on the Reynoldsburg City Council.

Side note - these are all the candidates we know about, if there's someone we left off the list, please let us know. We'll make sure to include them in the list


OYD members across the state support young candidates as they run for office at virtually every level.  We're incredibly honored to support these YD candidates and encourage all Ohioans to cast their ballots for these talented individuals.  In 2017, so that our members can get to know the candidates better, we’ll be conducting Q&A interviews with many of the YD candidates on ballot.   We will post links to the candidate Q&As on this page as they are completed.

Cuyahoga County

Franklin County

Hamilton County

Jefferson County

Licking County

Lucas County

Mahoning County 

Montgomery County

Tuscarawas County

Wood County

Know a Young Democrat running in 2017 that you want us to profile? Contact us and let us know.